A bit of this and that

Hey y’all! To start things off, I’m going to include a really delicious French dessert that I love. It’s not normally a summer dessert but, I believe that if it tastes good it can be served anytime! Right?

Cherry Clafoutis
A dessert which is super rustic and pretty simple to make. Perfect for a night in, anytime of the time of year.

Ingredients:
Thick (double/heavy) cream 200 ml
Vanilla Bean 1
Milk 100 ml
Eggs 3
Caster Sugar 50 g
Plain (all-purpose) flour 70 g
Kirsch (fruit brandy) 1 tablespoon
Black Cherries 450 g
Icing Sugar for dusting

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 C (350 F). Put the cream in a small saucepan. Split the vanilla bean in two, scrape out the seeds and add the scraped seeds and bean to the cream. Heat gently for a few minutes, then remove from the heat, add the milk and cool. Strain the mixture, discarding the vanilla bean.

2. Whisk the eggs with the sugar and flour, then stir into the cream mixture. Add the kirsch and cherries and stir well.

3. Pour into a 23 cm (9 inch) round baking dish and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until golden on top.

4. Dust with icing sugar and serve.

***Make sure you pit the cherries or buy pitted ones already!! Otherwise your friends or you might get a really unpleasant surprise. ***

*even though this recipe is best made with fresh cherries in the summer time when they are truly luscious, I sometimes make it with frozen cherries, still turns out pretty amazing ūüôā *

Moving on!

lifequote

I have some tips for any of y’all planning to start anything (exercise, healthy habits, good study habits…etc.).

So, to start of I will start by saying the first thing you must do for anything you are trying to achieve — be it good grades, a fitness goal, or forming a positive habit — is you must set out a specific short term goal. Long term goals are lovely and a great help in keeping your eye on the prize; however, they are not at all useful in day-to-day aspects of achieving that goal. We mostly taper off after the first couple weeks; first week you are super energized and excited about something- you have it all figured out and then it slowly tapers off from there. It isn’t easy to keep on track with a goal so far away (such as wanting a GPA of 4.0 at the end of the semester). It’s misleading and a false sense of realism to think that you can just set your goals so far in advance and actually get to them and not taper off or lose motivation as time goes by. I am well aware that there are people who maybe can easily say “I want to run a marathon” and 6 months later…there they are, running. Those people are rare. Most of us need some sort of constant jolt and push until we get into a rhythm and build a good habit or learn to motivate ourselves without those little nudges. A simple example of this would be for me…I want to get an A in all of my courses this semester. If that is my only aim for the entire semester, heck I doubt I would even make it to half the classes on a crappy day, but it isn’t. I make¬†daily¬†goals for myself. This may seems a little excessive but trust me, when you are working from 3% good study habits…daily min-goals are perfect. Today my tasks were to write a short outline of my essay and email my prof, then finish chapter 2 of my math textbook exercises. I did all of those things and still had time for myself. Planning is a wonderful thing! It also helps keep yourself organized because if you aren’t setting daily milestones then your bigger ambitions will fade out due to distractions and laziness (hey, it’s human nature, no shame there) and consequently never be realized. How can someone jump from nothing to having it all? They can’t. So, in order to keep yourself motivated and your passion for the aim fired up at all times, without flickering out, just give yourself daily pushes. Reward yourself for a job well done with something pleasant. I personally like to reward all my good exams with my favorite fro-yo. It’s not hard, just takes perseverance.

Once you have this all figured out and get into a grove, you’re golden. What happens after you learn to set daily tasks for yourself to check off, you’ll feel accomplished and happy. Next step is to wake up and do it all over again! There is nothing else to ¬†start on the road to successfully accomplishing an aspiration. So, really there are two steps in the beginning process: plan/set short term goals, rinse and repeat. That is all!

Along we move!

What grinds my gears- part 2:

1. When someone called you and you missed their call by a second, you call back and they don’t answer. How!? You JUST called me….what, did you drop the phone and run away once I didn’t pick up? Honestly…annoying!

2. People who park crooked. Can you please explain why you took up 1.5 parking spots with a tiny car?! I understand if someone with a big truck or trailer does this, they simply can’t do it any other way. But if you are driving a Toyota Corolla and end up taking up almost 2 spaces or parking crooked (so that when I park next to you I can’t open my door) I think you are a moron or a jackass. Only two options there.

3. Stopping in the middle of the speed-up lane entering a highway. OMG. I have been so frickin close to crashing because of those idiots! Just the other week I was driving to the US with my dad and this imbecile stops right smack in the middle and there are 5 cars behind him (including me) going at 80 km/h. NOT a good call, bud. Why in the fuck would you need to do that?! If it’s an emergency pull the F over and don’t cause a 10 car pile-up. Unless you died behind your wheel, you are fully capable of pulling to the side of the road or waiting until you hit a turn off point in order to stop. Frick on a stick, this one really pissed me off.

4. ¬†The use of the word “dear”. It’s fine when it’s in context of an e-mail, or an ancient grandmother says it…but not when it’s someone my age or actually any age that isn’t past 80 who says that to me. I just wanna smack ’em in the face with a glove. Seriously, it sounds so¬†douchey/bitchy. “Can you be a dear and…”/ “No, dear…”. Maybe most people don’t mean to sound like they are talking down to me, but it really does feel like it.

5. Talking loudly about “important” stuff. I hate when people try to look all important and purposely talk loud or just above normal voice levels to seem like a big shot. Especially when they are talking normally then all of a sudden their voice level goes up and you hear “yeah, that meeting really went well. Thank you for bringing me the paperwork, I will look over that guy’s resume….” and then tapers off to normal levels. I can almost hear the second part of that being “yes, boss I will organize it according to alphabetical order…yes of course I will have it done by Monday, thank you.” Haha. Just pathetic.

Well, my lovely readers and loyal followers, that is all for me tonight! Have a good weekend and I will be back sometime next weekend; not quite sure which day since Thursday is my birthday and I am not certain what will be going on during the weekend. So, to be safe, check back on Sunday, a new post should be up!

Leave a Reply

